Some people think it is one of the best ways to solve environmental problems by increasing the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As air pollution has become severe, many people think that the government should impose taxes to increase the cost of fuels to reduce exhaust gasses generated by vehicles. In my opinion, I do not advocate this perspective due to the negative effects on the society and economy.

To begin with, several negative impacts on society could be reaped from the increase in the cost of fuels, if it has been imposed by authorities. To be more specific, the cost of goods will be more expensive due to the limitation in transportations caused by increasing taxes on fuels. Therefore, citizens are likely to spend more money on products, which can cause many of them to not be able to afford to live decently. As a result, due to the high costs of daily supplies, the living standards would be degraded. For instance, people have to pay more than a 10% increment in the price of vegetables, since these vegetables were transported from other states.

Besides, the domestic economy of a country could be deteriorated, because the decrease in the number of transportations resulted from the expensive price of fuels. This could cause the imbalances in the distribution of resources among the regions, where there is a surplus with certain goods while others are short of them. By having these differences, the economy could face price gaps between regions. To some extent, it can also lead to monopolies, which is not good for the development of the economy. For example, a product could be varying from different prices among other cities, therefore, some individuals can leverage this disadvantage to hoard goods for their illegal purposes.

In conclusion, increasing the prices of fuels not only deteriorates the living standard but also causes difficulties for the economy.