Today, more and more full time university students focus on other activities rather than spend a lot of time studying. Some people think it is essential for university students to be involved in other activities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to an increasing number of university students paying more attention to other activities instead of studying, this leads to the fact that many debatable arguments related to whether it is important to have students involved in other activities or not have been lit. In my opinion, I advocate the former idea to support students to have more experiences and to build up connections to society by taking part in certain activities.

Firstly, by involving in many activities such as internships or joining small projects, students could have experiences and lessons, which would be useful when they graduated. To be more specific, being exposed to various experiences is the most effective way to help students to apply their knowledge that they learned from universities in reality. As a result, they could deeply understand their lessons and gain valuable experiences through failures rather than blindly learn by heart without using it. Moreover, they are likely to gain better insights from people working in their studying field, so that they can build up their competency to be suitable for job markets. According to a science article conducted in several universities, the studying performances and rate of students getting jobs after their graduations increased significantly, since these tertiary systems add internships in companies each semester.

Secondly, certain activities might help students to build connections to society, making them more responsible. For instance, by taking part in charity activities, students could have chances to help and meet people who are in difficulties; therefore, it not only nurtures their kindness but also makes them realize their responsibilities to solve these existing issues among the society. By doing this, students could gain motivation for their studies and better use their time in helping people instead of wasting it on playing games. Because of that, they become decent citizens in the future, which could result in decreases in crime rates. Therefore, society becomes more secure, and the government can have good labor forces in developing the country. Taking England as an example, researchers claim that the main reason why this country has the finest domestic labor forces is the curriculums of universities that obligate students to attend at least three social activities before graduating.

In conclusion, university students could gain many benefits by involving charity or internships. Because of this, governments should consider encouraging students to take part in these activities.