Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup, and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Surrounding the debate about whether countries pay an amount of money for athletic contests like the World Cup to organize, while some people suppose that the investments in these events would be squandered, others maintain it would positively contribute to the development of a country. I will address both opinions in the following essay.

Irrefutably, it is supposed that holding athletic events takes a vast quantity of money from the host nation. To ensure the success of these competitions, governments have to waste a large percentage of the national budget in order to serve different purposes such as sports facilities or mass media. In addition, there is no doubt that these competitions practically cause a capital loss in the economy. One of the most remarkable examples of this is Qatar who spent approximately 229 billion on World Cup infrastructure in 2022. Instead, those organizing expenses could be better allocated to improve the standard of living, eliminate starvation, and create a better life for their residents.

However, I believe that the excessive investment in arranging big international sports events has a great influence on different branches. First and foremost, these leagues certainly provide an enormous boost to tourism in host countries. Due to the huge profits through souvenirs, hotels, restaurants, fares or numerous others. Secondly, it is a good chance to promote their image globally, thus having more international cooperation for mutual development among nations in the long run. As previously mentioned, although Qatar paid a colossal amount of budget to prepare and celebrate World Cup 2022, it is undeniable that the spread of their image appeals to tourists.

In conclusion, celebrating an international sports event undeniably spends a lot of money, nevertheless, I personally believe that to be a host could provide advantages to the country.