Some people think that it is worth researching different minerals in space. Others, however, disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Due to the technological advancement, it is possible now to conduct the search for natural resources outside the Earth. While some concur that such ventures are critical for mitigating the political conflicts for resource scarcity on Earth, I find that this approach is not sustainable, and therefore is a waste of resources.

On the one hand, it is logical why some people deem resource exploitation on other planets worthwhile since it can temporarily ease the energy crisis on Earth. Due to the problems of overpopulation and consumerism, the earth is now experiencing a gradual depletion of natural substances such as coal and oil. Minerals like these are important in generating energy for human activities and the scarcity of such resources has already given rise to political tension between many countries, leading to conflicts and even wars. If fuels in space are to be discovered and utilized, these new energy sources can help meet the global demand and ease the strain between nations.

On the other hand, despite the above undisputed benefits of this endeavor, many people believe that it is not sustainable and I am of the same opinion. These minerals, be it from celestial bodies or not, are subject to an inevitable exhaustion. Therefore, this approach only offers humanity a temporary reprieve, potentially delaying necessary long-term actions needed to address the core issues of consumerism and the necessity for sustainable practices. Additionally, the plan to extract minerals from outer space will demand astronomical expenditures to be realized, and even with all that investment, its success is not guaranteed due to human technical challenges. Therefore, it would be much wiser to redirect these funds on Earth to research renewable energies and implement their use on a global scale.

In conclusion, some people might support the extraction of minerals from other planets, but personally, I hold the opposing view on the matter as it does not bring long-term benefits and, therefore, resources for this plan should otherwise go into researching renewable energies.