Some people think that men are naturally more competitive than women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Essay topics

As gender discrimination is sill existent in most parts of the society, there is a claim that women are not as competitive as men. While competitiveness is undoubtedly indicated more significantly by men, it should be ranked at the same level between both genders.

A higher level of competitiveness of men can be seen in many aspects of life. In terms of employment, men are still an overwhelming majority of workforce, eventhough women have played a more important role in our economy than ever before. In different fields, ranging from bussiness to politics, men in general achieve higher results and posititions than their counterparts. This difference between genders can be explained as simple as males are more favourable in many parts of the world. In some Islamic countries, Muslim women still encounter discrimination in various domains as men are the superior, dominating every aspect of Islam culture. Additionally, with such biological duties like giving birth and nourishing children, women are much or less restrained from higher education or career, thus being labeled as the less competitive gender.

With all the difficulties that female face, their competitiveness is undeniable. Nowadays, given the opportunity to compete equally as men, women have proved to be ambitious competitors in various fields. Taking sports, what is once known as for men only as an example, more and more women are taking part in and even outperform their counterparts. Such sportswoman like Serena Williams, with her mindblowing record of 23 Grandslams has proved that women are the faces of tennis. Women are now capable to do well in every given task, from housewife to politician and soilder, not to mention all their sacrifices to their family.

In conclusion, it is a misconception that women are born to be less comptitive than their counterparts, due to gender discrimination and family duties that they face. In my opinion, competiveness has nothing related to gender, but instead it depends on the mentality of its owner.