Some people think that mental strength is the most important factor for success in sports. However, some others believe that it is more important to have strong and fit people. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

In terms of sports, there is an everlasting debate about whether mental or physical condition should firstly be taken into consideration. From my point of view, both factors have a profound impact on such activities, but it is a priority to be strong and healthy.

On the one hand, feelings do affect sportspeople as they are forced to endure a huge amount of pressure from numerous sources. For instance, when it comes to football players participating in international competitions such as the Euro Cup or World Cup, expectations of motivators back in their hometowns or inside stadiums are unavoidable. In order to deal with that, they must be trained to overcome the pressure so that goals can be achieved.

However, I believe it is advisable that physical health should be paid more attention to. Various kinds of sport require training under harsh circumstances in an attempt to help sportsmen compete with a stable and consistent level. Take football as an example, not many individuals are capable of playing for 90 minutes and even professionals sometimes face physical issues during the period. In a recent match of Euro Cup 2020, a player from Denmark suddenly collapsed, shocking his teammates and fans in the stadium. Fortunately, by prompt support, he recovered from the deadly situation, but is predicted to be unable to pursue his career any longer. Keeping fit therefore plays a crucial role in sport.

To sum up, sport participators are advised to prepare the necessary mental and physical strength, especially the second one from my viewpoint. Additionally, the daily routine is also needed to be considered as it also has effect on players’ well-being.