Some people think the most important thing about being rich is that it gives a person an opportunity to help other people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

All have witnessed rich people such as Bill Gates or Mark Zuckerberg spend millions of dollars on helping others, but the notion of whether wealthy individuals will likely sacrifice their needs is extremely controversial. In my opinion, I agree with both terms.

Rich individuals tend to assist other people because they are conscious that with the same amount of expenditure, other people will use it more productively. For instance, within 5 dollars you can buy a pre-made burger, while if you spend it accurately, you can produce a whole family meal. If we look at a higher amount of money, an eight-hundred-dollar phone is equal to a 1-year meal of starving children. Consequently, if wealthy individuals have a second thought about this before buying luxurious goods, they would certainly decide to help others instead. However, it comes down to a person’s empathy and compassion. One would be more likely to provide if they had been through tragedy and poverty themselves. This gave people the urge and motive to support because it is a powerful reflection of their former selves. Moreover, with this particular group of people, they will have a fulfilling and nostalgic feeling thinking that the happiness on this person's face would have been theirs if someone had lent them a hand.

On the contrary, their needs are directly proportional to their wealth. One becomes greedier when he has more money since ambitions and cupidity have no limitations. So, the question is not whether this person will help, but how many among the rich individuals are willing to assist the unfortunate ones. A recent survey surprisingly announced that only 7% among the prosperous individuals remembered helping other people. However, it is only a common psychology perspective that humans will think of themselves first. In the world of immensely developed convenience, these individuals deserved to have their fortune because most were diligent and talented, whereas some unfortunate ones complained and worried but they did not try their best to keep up with the pace.

In conclusion, this argumentative notion covers both facets and people in society. Regarding the reason why people decided to help others or not, it is necessary to research deeper before disagreeing with this individual’s behavior.