Some people think that art (such as painting and music) does not directly improve quality of people’s life, so the government should spend money on other areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art has been an immensely developed field and a crucial part of society, yet the notion of the government’s expenditure on art has not been ceased. In fact, many people believe that other areas are more required, in which I disagree.

Art substantially affects one’s feelings and character. Firstly, art touches one by connecting to their emotions, renew a person, therefore, increase love and sympathy in society. For example, prisoners are treated with music and painting as a method to help them feel cherished, respected, to learn about compassion and altruism. In contrast, several nations make criminals listen to loud, intense music as a method of punishment. Art can shift a person’s feelings simply like that. With the right use of arts, the government can enhance awareness of citizens, hatred and inequality in society will no longer be an obstacle.

Secondly, art can recover and improve one’s health. Individuals are suffering from stress and anger from the rapid life pace, this directly affects their life quality. However, experiencing art can significantly reduce this tension and boredom, thus provide peace and calm. Art affects a man’s neurons, compels them to work spontaneously and produces happy hormones to the body as a result. A health survey in 2010 announced that a person with cancer can improve their health and time up to 50 years if they are always satisfied and untroubled. With that being said, art is an indispensable factor in the cure and recovery of any health problem and treatment.

To conclude, art can directly proportional to individuals’ wellbeing and the development of society, which cannot be neglected by the government. Countries and the authorities should not minimize their expenditure on this field.