Some people think that art (such as painting and music) does not directly improve quality of people’s life, so the government should spend money on other areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decades, national budget distribution has never failed to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although arts have long been placed in an inferior place compared with other more seemingly more important facets such as education, economy and health car. The issue as to whether that it should be more highly valued by government or not remains controversial. From my own perspective, as intangible arts might be, they can make the masses enjoy a better life. Firstly, it is important to recognize that arts, especially the visual ones, can make cities and towns more visually attractive and spectacular. Some may argue that public services are the things such as hospitals, roads and schools, and these things determine the quality of life that most of us will have. This argument could be true to some extent. However, they should take into account the fact that the monotonousness of cityscape causes profound influence on city dweller’s emotional well-being. For example, in vertical cities, the excessive uniformity and the sameness of skyscrapers are associated with high levels of stress, preventing people from giving full attention to tasks. This example indicates that the monotony of city’s visual values has adverse effects on morale, performance, and quality of work. Therefore, the investment in public architectural buildings, sophisticated decorative details can liven up people’s lives, make citizens proud of the modernization of their cities and their sense of happiness will also be improved. Secondly, it is equally important to recognize that arts are also an industry with great economic potential. Opponents would argue that the investment in arts is a waste of money. Nevertheless, they are ignorant of the fact that the rapid development of arts has been one of the main factors promoting national economies in many countries. A telling example is Korea, holding musical concerts has been taken as main strategy to attract international tourists to come and visit Korea, thereby fostering local tourism industry. The prevalence of K-pop musical bands and their wide appeal have facilitated the export of Korean products overseas and increased the attractiveness of Korea, as stars, celebrities, media personalities can enlist the sympathy of art-lovers and make their views extremely influential on fans worldwide. Examples of this kind are many, they show that the provision of incentives to art industry is of financial benefits in the long run.