Some people think museums should be enjoyable places to attract and entertain young people. Others think the purpose of museums is to educate, not to entertain. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Museums are the places where objects of artistic, cultural and historical evidences are stored. Nowadays, tours often include museums as a part of the trip. This makes museums become a type of tourist attraction. However, many people, especially teachers, believe that the main function of museums is to educate, not to entertain. In my opinion, they have a lofty job of both.

For entertaining, tourists coming from another region or country can enjoy a completely new culture, which they have never seen before, just by visiting the museums. They introduce wonderful features of its place to the travelers in the most lively and rich of pictures ways, which are far more interesting than any kind of explanation or commentary. Moreover, to students, museums provide various historical proofs, which they can really touch by their real hand. This persuades the young, make them make the most of the museums and find that history is not that boring.

On the other point of view, museums are believed to have the main mission to give people more knowledge happened in the past, not to become a place of attraction. It is obvious that there are many other sites for entertainment, which are not museums. Theatres and cinemas can be considered to be chosen to watch a relaxing play or film. Museums should only show historical documentaries. Parks, zoos, caves and beaches have many magnificent sceneries to take pictures of, while museums just track down the expansion of a land, explain the evolution of wildlife, how the stalagmite forms, or when the first Ferris wheel was built. Museums show the contemporaries how former generations lived, fought for their lives, their tribe and contribute to the community. They help the young keep in mind their original, then behave well toward the elder; help them deeply understand the value of present life and appreciate more the objects represent.

In conclusion, museums are educating and entertaining. Deciding which is the more important depends mostly on people's point of view. But after all, we can deny its part in a country, or even the society, culture and development.