Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate.

Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

Attracting more visitors is one of the primary reasons why museum should be entertaining. While some agree with that notion, I believe museum should be educating as it contains meaningful lessons from the past.

The museum could be enjoyable as it encourages people to visit, generating more profit for the maintenance expense. More specifically, as many of the items put in museums are fragile due to the past, it takes special treatment for the maintenance to keep the items intact. For instance, after implementing edutaining activities using technology, Bank Indonesia Museum in Jakarta has been able to skyrocket their visitor by up to triple in the past three years. Most of the visitors claimed they immensely enjoyed the hologram attraction. However, although entertainment increased profits due to the high number of visitors, people were not concerned about some items and eventually caused some damage.

Education content in museums is necessary to covey valuable lessons from the past since not many people are aware of certain historical events. This could help future generations prevent making the same mistake twice as their ancestors. For example, Poland officials decided to open one of the Holocaust memorials, The Auswitchz concentration camp, to the public with minor renovation for educational matters. Although it is excruciatingly painful to see the leftover of the victims’ belonging, such as clothes, shoes and other items, it reminds people how brutal it was Holocaust and reminds people always to spread peace across the world.

In conclusion, although many argue that museum should be amusing to increase visitors, I would argue that it needs to educate as being a place to store profound historical lessons. If possible, both combined approaches are necessary.