It has been proposed that citizens should only consume food and drinks products that have been produced in their own country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many nations, people are persuaded to intake locally produced food and beverages. While I agree with this notion, given its contribution to economic improvement and the empowered local farmers.

The increase in economic welfare is one of the impacts of people choosing to buy local food and beverages. The more people prefer to consume a domestic meal, the more profitable businesses can generate. This leads to the positive growth of the nation's Gross Domestic Product as more taxes are paid. According to a survey done by Unilever in 2019, the jump of 20% in Korean GDP is contributed by the local Korean food & beverages sectors. This happened a year after the government launched a campaign to love the locally produced cuisine.

In addition, the rise of locally produced meal consumption in a country would support local farmers, decreasing the amount of importing meat and strengthening the value of the nation’s currency. This is because the national demand has been fulfilled entirely by the beef produced by local farmers due to the increase of people choosing to eat the local meal. For instance, research done by the University of Michigan in 2021 stated that Canada had decreased its meat import activity after its persuaded citizen to eat the locally produced meal. The meat’s demand from local farmers has quadrupled and improved their everyday life ever since.

To conclude, leveraging the economy and empowering local farmers are the two positive impacts of people consuming domestic feasts as their preference. Therefore, it is always suggested to serve the highest quality of its products.