In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Plastic containers have been recently seen as ubiquitous in food and beverage companies. It brings more drawbacks as it pollutes the environment and is hard to be recycled, overtaking the merits.

Plastic containers in many food products contaminate the environment, causing an ecosystem imbalance. Although many animals died from eating microplastics, many brands' plastic use cases keep rising due to the cheap production costs. However, some nations have implemented regulations targetting companies to reduce the number of plastic usages. For instance, over the last decade, the population of Indonesian Tongkol Fish has been heavily contaminated by microplastic disposal, killing more than 1000 fish per month. A considerable decrease in the Tongkol fish population caused a food scarcity of seabirds, causing a high mortality rate among this species.This happened because tons of plastic waste from brands ended up in the sea.

Hardly recycled is another pitfall of food and drink companies commonly use plastic containers, making the waste pile up for an extended period. Although having minimal access to recycling plastic disposal, some technologies have been created aiming to recycle more plastic disposals. However, the plastics produced always surpass the ones that are recycled. For example, a pile of plastic trash from 100 years ago can still be found at some seashore in Bekasi, Indonesia. This massive stack of plastic trash can not be sorted from the materials by the recycling facilities for unspecified reasons, so people would just let it piles up until an unknown time.

To conclude, deteriorating the environment and the difficulty of recycling are the two main plus points why plastic containers are damaging. If possible, policies should be made regarding the plastic containers many food and beverage companies use.