Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain young people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.,

Whether museums should entertain their young visitors, or should they focus on impart their audience with knowledge is a topic of the public interest. This essay will elaborate on both merits and drawbacks of the ideas and explain why I believe that the combination of both would optimize the utilization of museums.

On the one hand, investment in enhancement of entertaining experience for attraction of young individuals would not only facilitate income generation but help museums achieve their social responsibility. First, young visitors are tend to outnumber other age groups in terms of purchasing power, which stems from the fact that they are less price sensitive. This means that if museums can lure more young vistitors, they are able to receive more money from admission fee and sales of souvernirs to these people. The financial resources then would be ploughed back to buy artefacts, renovate premises, or organize events for the museums. In addition, given more young spectators visit museums, the role of spreading out historical and cultural knowledge of museums would be fullfilled.

On the other hand, provision of historical and cultural values to spectators is the nature of musems, they therefore, should focus on the basic function. By satisfying the need of entertainment for young individuals, museums would deviate from their nature that is to provide people with cultural, aesthetic, and historical values. More importantly, from economic perspective, museums are not designed for recreational activities. Therefore, to held entertainment activities museums have to invest enormously in relevant expenditures including construction of new areas, purchase of relevant equipment, and salary for staff. If the expenses are not managed well, the museums would place themselves at risk of loss, or even bankcruptcy.

In sum, I am of the viewpoint that museums should combine educational and entertaining instrument to optimize their resources. Given the combination of the two appoaches, museums would be able to earn more profit, complete their position as knowledge providers; meanwhile, they should allocate money and manpower for education purpose as well as control their expenses properly.