People nowadays prefer to interact online (e.g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face.

What are the reasons for this?

Is this a positive or negative development?

Online interaction has become the norm nowadays. The phenomenon seems stem from the development of technology and modern lifestyle. The drawbacks of this trend compeltely outweigh their merits, both impacts will be elaborated below.

The boom of technological advances in recent years has enhanced many aspects of human's life. The first point is that technology breakthrough has deeply changed the ways people work, which improves efficiency and productivity. For instance, employees who once burdened with full of constant meetings now are being relieved with the support of applications holding conferences via internet. Technology development also has other implications on people's private life. With the advent of smart devices, the way people communicating has witnessed radical changes. Individuals tend to deploy telecommunication equipment to contact each other for unimportant issues such as chit chat or small talks instead of person meeting.

As human's basic needs have gradually fulfilled and standard of living has increased globally, human being's intention has shifted from focusing on making living to lifestyles that aim at balance between work and life. This causes workers to avoid work-related relationships which often associated with stress and pressure, and subsequently results in less direct face-to-face interaction. Similarly, contribution of individualism among the young is also a stimulus for less social interaction. This trend which has originated in western world now become popular in Asia nations.

In the light of these facts, I believe that the less direct social meeting between people would lead to misunderstanding and sometimes conflicts in societies. Thus, the movement may have detrimental impacts on humankind and deteriorate social solidarity.

In sum, lack of interactions in person in today's could attribute to new inventions in technological sector and human beings' lifestyle. This trend could lead to societal issues and lessen meaning relationships in our world.