Some people think that music brings benefits to individuals and societies. Others, however, think that music can have a negative influence on both.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people assume that music is an integral part of human expression and cannot be separated from our lives while others think music may be very detrimental. In my opinion, although music can have drawbacks, these are overshadowed by its important benefits.

Music has so far been an excellent communication tool. In contemporary societies, where relationships and connections between family members have been strained as a result of generations gap, music has the power to pass on cultural traditions to new generations and therefore inculcates a sense of awareness and appreciation in them. For instance, songs about parents help people figure out the values of family lives and that family plays a key role in incentivising us to overcome hardships whenever we encounter setbacks. Also, classical music such as trio sonatas or jazz with melodies and rhythm filled in the harmony would make people living abroad feel tranquil, but also bring them a wave of nostalgia and a strong sense of identity. This could increase the possibility that they could return their home country and dedicate to development.

However, nowadays there are different kinds of music and not all of them are good. Some songs created by young singers contain a lot of offensive words or verbal abuses which have a negative influence, particularly on young people. Some adolescents or youngsters who are not mature enough may have morally wrong behaviours if they listen to these songs since they contradict ethical standards.

But it is difficult to think of a world without music. Although its negative outcomes are manifest, generally people's taste in music as they grow up. therefore, parents could help their offsprings stay away from harmful music by encouraging them to listen to highly-rated songs as well as properly regulating the amount of time they spend listening to kinds of music such as rock and roll if possible.

In conclusion, despite some negative impacts of music on the young, it is hard to find a person without positive musical associations and I believe that music should be considered essential in our spiritual lives.