Some people think that the news media nowadays have influenced people’s lives in negative ways. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the news media has a profound impact on the general public due to its prevalence. although it is harmful to the society to some extent, the benefits that it brings are more considerable.

On the one hand, there are a number of downsides that the news industry can have. To begin with, in order to achieve higher audience ratings, media has the tendency to report negative developments, including violent crimes, scandals and so forth, rather than environmental or educational issues. this has an adverse impact on the public, especially children who are not mature enough to be aware of what they should learn. For example, teenagers might read articles about their idols' using drugs and imitate it, simply because they are considered role models to those children. Moreover, a large number of reports are likely to be exaggerated or even fake, leading to unnecessary mistrust and pessimism among the general public. some media channels in Vietnam, for instance, distort the truth about the government in a negative way. this has caused many to lose faith in the authorities, resulting in political unrest in some places.

Nevertheless, the important role the news media possesses in our lives is impossible to deny. First, since news is updated regularly and easily accessible, media is now regarded as the most efficient means to help people keep abreast of contemporary issues. In fact, as the world drastically shifts to a knowledge-based economy, it is of great importance for one to keep up with the latest information to adapt to new changes. In addition, thanks to the media, love and trust have been widely spread, which positively contributes to the society. For example, stories of people rescuing others or providing support for the ill and underprivileged indicates that goodness still exists in almost anyone, and thus inspire other moral courses of actions.

In conclusion, although the news media may be detrimental to individuals and society in some aspects, the positive contributions that it has made to our lives are undeniable.