Some people think that the news media nowadays have influenced people’s lives in negative ways. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Never has the amount of news been overwhelming as today and a large number of people are critical of the influence of the news media on their life. I believe modern day’s news media harms our way of life in several aspects.

Although good things do happen on a daily basis with equal number of the bad ones, most news agencies place a heavy focus on the latter, and this one-sided news coverage generates nothing but negative feeling, anxiety, and false impression. Merely watching the dark sides of the society, for instance, mass shootings, bank robberies, or car accidents, one may misleadingly assume such events occur with high frequency, which results in an extreme emotional disturbance that life in no longer safe. On the other hand, insufficient coverage of positive news compounds the erroneous impression that in a particular society, the future for the people are dim and threatened, thereby creating unnecessary stress.

Perplexity and bafflement are another detrimental effect of the news media when there excessively is exaggeration, fabrication, and distortion of news. Thanks to the Internet and advancement in information technology, news nowadays is spread in a matter of seconds. Meanwhile, it is arduous and challenging for the authority to control and certify as true thousand pieces of news published by dozens of news agencies every single hour. Consequently, viewers and audience of news may be encountered by enormous influx of news on even one subject matter without having an effective filtering instrument to sort out the right from the wrong news, ending up overtly bewildered and disoriented.

In summary, the news media’s unbalanced coverage of gloomy and depressing news and dishonest news report are unquestionably injurious to many people’s lives. Therefore, viewers and audience should be distinctly cautious about the news they receive via the news media.