Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? How can its popularity be increased?

Environment protection is vital to modern life and cycling is believed to be an effective way to realize it. Nonetheless, for many, cycling is simply not their transportation form of choice. This essay shall examine several reasons for this and suggest a number of remedies.

I believe there are two primary reasons behind why riding bicycle has not been a prevailing way of commuting in many areas across the world. Studies indicate that perception of road safety has the most significant role to play. While a car user is to some extent protected by the car’s steel chassis and frame, a cyclist’s protection is limited to some basic protective gears such as helmets or knee guards. Therefore, should an accident between a car and a cyclist happen, the cyclist will suffer substantially more. Another drawback that non-cyclists often cite is cycling is weather-dependable. To illustrate, bicycles do not provide riders with protection from such unfavorable weather conditions as heavy rain or snow. People are also reluctant to utilize bicycles for traveling for practical reasons such as parking, security, and navigation.

Commuting by bicycle can be encouraged by a number of ways. First, it is imperative for local governments to assign more bike lanes and that stricter punishment is applied to vehicle users who invade them. This assures cyclists that the government cares about their safety and, hence, ameliorate their confidence in road safety. In addition, improvement in cycling infrastructure and cycling safety training carried out by local governments will certainly contribute to safer road traffic. Second, despite cycling’s dependence on weather, reliable weather forecasts can reduce cyclists’ frustration and increase their desire to bring out their bicycles. Also, given that cycling is healthy for both people and the environment, propaganda and education in this direction will surely involve more people in making use of bicycles in their daily commute.

To conclude, if adequate effort is poured into improving road safety, producing higher quality weather forecast, as well as enhancing people’s environmental awareness, more people will consider bicycles as their primary means of transportation.