Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? How can its popularity be increased?

It is indisputable that using a bicycle for a journey is one of the most eco-friendly ways. However, there are only a few people who choose this form of transport to travel to a destination. This essay will provide some compelling reasons behind this problem and then viable solutions will also be suggested to make the bicycle a more popular means of transport.

There are several culprits that explain why cycling as an activity is not popular. First, cycling demands a reasonable level of physical fitness. A cyclist needs to have ample strength to cope with a journey of any length, such as going up hills and confronting biting winds and rain. Plus, as the pollution rates in many places, especially in metropolitan areas, is increasing at an alarming rate, commuting to work by bike is no longer an ideal way compared to cars. Second, many people are put off cycling because of the danger of using busy roads. They have to face heavy traffic and hence, leading to longer time they might need to get to work. This is truly a real problem for those who have hectic schedules and stressful lives.

With a little public and private initiative, the popularity of cycling could easily be increased. As individuals, each person should try to build up their own fitness by beginning with a cycle for short journeys to school and to supermarkets. They can also take up cycling in the early morning as it is the best time for fresh air. Besides, the authorities should introduce congestion charges, as in Vietnam, to reduce the number of cars on the road and thus alleviate traffic jams. This acts as an encouragement for people to go to work by bicycle. Moreover, if more city cycle lanes are constructed, cyclists will be kept safe and even speed up their journey times.

In brief, there are some reasons behind the fact that not many people are interested in cycling to work. However, by taking these aforementioned actions into consideration, it is possible to increase the popularity of cycling.