The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the media plays a crucial role in society as a source of information. Many people believe that news coverage should focus more on good news. While there is ample evidence supporting this notion, I partly agree with it as I argue that bad news should continue to be reported when necessary.

There is a good case for believing good news is rarely made as front page headlines as these positions are often dominated by sad stories. Whenever people read news, they are susceptible to negativity, which might pose a threat to their mental health. Therefore, I contend that more good news should be informed as it has a positive impact on public morale. For instance, in recent years, multiple scientific breakthroughs have been achieved in the treatment of certain types of cancer and by being kept informed about this news, people will be uplifted to become more optimistic and hence, have a reason to believe in a better future.

Nevertheless, I hold the viewpoint that it would be misguided to introduce restrictions on the reporting of tragic news events. It can be seen that the world is facing a multitude of problems ranging from natural disaters to crimes and terrorism. And I opine that it is essential for people to keep abreast of these happenings in order to have enough intrinsic knowledge of contemporary issues. In case these are being derelicted by the media, in the interest of reporting cheerful news, people may not have a tendency to implement measures to tackle them, leading to the deterioration of life quality.

In conclusion, I do agree that it is important for the media to provide people with more positive messages. However, significant bad news still needs to be fully-reported without being exaggerated so that the public will be aware of some serious problems facing the world today.