Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes.

Whether or not, global tourism has increased so much over the decades that it is argued to have negative impacts on local inhabitants and the environment. This essay will first look at some primary culprits of the problem before suggesting some viable measures that must be applied to resolve it.

International tourism is believed to pose a threat to host nations by many indigenous people and there are two main compelling reasons explaining this trend. The first reason is that it may have an adverse impact on traditional customs and local pursuits. It can be seen that a large volume of tourists may be insensitive towards the feelings of native residents. To simplify, some western visitors coming to Vietnam are rowdy and wear unsuitable clothes, which may have an undesirable influence on the youngsters who imitate immodest and provocative behaviour. Another reason is that holidaymakers often pollute or litter beauty spots and several famous natural wonders. Even tourists behave responsibly, the sheer number of them can spoil the areas by this lack of respect for the local environment.

There are various solutions that could be implemented to tackle the issue. First, it is necessary for governments to adopt stricter legislation on tourism industries. They need to ensure that local operators are responsible for clearing litter and disposing waste in ways that do not harm the environment. Moreover, visitors should be urged to respect the local customs and cultures of the host countries and therefore, be accountable to their destinations’ environments. By taking these actions, the problems would be properly mitigated.

To summarize, only by addressing the concerns of local people will negative attitudes towards international tourism be changed.