Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion

Whether or not, tourist destinations benefit from international tourism is a debatable issue. Some people believe that the development of tourism can be hugely beneficial to the local economy while others argue that this trend could take its toll on native residents and the environment. This essay will first discuss both the pros and cons of tourism before presenting my opinion.

On the one hand, it is clear that tourism would create several positive aspects. One evident strength is that it stimulates the economies. By servicing the seasonal influx, easy money can be had and therefore making up a significant proportion of private, local and national incomes. According to official statistics, the money generated by tourism accounts for 5% of global GDP (Gross Domestic Products). Another reason is that tourism provides employment opportunities for people who can work in tourism-related industries. It is undeniable that hotels, bars, transports, and restaurants all need staffing and as a consequence, much-needed employment could be created for them.

On the other hand, there are some obvious negative aspects that would arise. First, a large volume of travelers every year can cause environmental damage, especially to some historical sites. Many ancient buildings and monuments struggle to cope with increased traffic and suffer inevitable wear and tear. Local infrastructure also fails to deal with a large number of travellers, leading to pollution and litter. To simplify, an age-old stone can be worn away in favour of bland international hotels. Second, tourism might have to experience seasonal fluctuation. When the tourist season comes to an end, employment ceases and tourist destinations can be blighted. It can be seen that some areas can be inundated with visitors during peak times, and then virtually deserted for many months.

To summarize, tourism can bring about lots of merits regarding the local economies and job opportunities. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of environmental problems and seasonal fluctuation. Personally, I strongly opine the positive effects it yields outweigh the detrimental ones.