Today, more people are travelling than ever before. Do the advantages of travelling outweigh the disadvantages?

It is indisputable that tourism has increased so much over the last decades and more countless people find travelling irresistible. While there are serious negative consequences of this development, I believe that they pale in comparison with the benefits

On the one hand, there are some aspects of travelling which raise cause for concern. One evident weakness is that it could expose us to danger, diseases and even death. It can be seen that many visitors, especially those who travel abroad, are vulnerable to illnesses and these may cost them a large amount of money to be treated. To exemplify during the coronavirus outbreak in 2020, a large volume of international travellers were tested positive for this plague and felt it hard to recover. Another fringe downside point is that tourists when having a change in their scenery often suffer from fatigue due to jet lag and food poisoning.

On the other hand, despite such grave issues, I believe that the positive impacts of travelling would prove to be more fundamental. First, having a vacation improves your mental health. Many people get used to the hustle and bustle of daily life and they often feel tired and exhausted. As a result, they have a desire to visit divergent locations just to get away from the hectic pace of life, which is believed to be the source of their stress. For some people, wandering abroad is even a cure for depression and anxiety. Second, travelling expands the boundaries of your knowledge. By visiting other places around the world, you may be more empathetic with different people from different social backgrounds and even gain a deeper knowledge about their cultures and lifestyles. Another benefit of travelling is that it enables people to be reunited with their family. Today, travel is less costly than ever before and consequently, people are eligible for going overseas, for example, to meet their parents and their siblings who are currently living far from them. Family ties can be maintained and strengthened thanks to the greater opportunities to travel.

In conclusion, I strongly opine that the merits of travelling for travelers are greater than the drawbacks.