The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. Agree or Disagree?

It is indisputable that traffic collisions have regularly occurred in many places around the globe thus leading to numerous injuries and deaths. Due to this, most people argue that imposing stricter punishments to drivers is the only way to reduce these incidents and alleviate the detrimental effects brought by them. Personally, I disagree with the viewpoint as I think there are ample measures that are worth implementing to constrain the problems.

On the one hand, strict punishments are deemed to be the sole way to improve traffic safety for a host of compelling reasons. First of all, penalties for careless drivers can act as a deterrent, meaning that they encourage people to drive more safely and thus avoid repeating the same offence. These penalties range from small fines and licence suspension to even prison sentences. Second, the aim of these kinds of punishments on driving offenses is to make drivers realize that if they drive dangerously and cause traffic accidents, there will be a multitude of profound consequences that affect not only themselves but also other innocent people. As a result, an idea for a safer environment to live in and a better future is no longer unattainable.

On the other hand, I believe that there are numerous viable methods to retard the significant increase of road accidents. First, young people should be fully educated with traffic knowledge as well as careful driving tutorials. Schools and parents need to teach them the importance of driving properly and the devastating effects caused by careless drivers. This measure could also be done by an extended or more difficult driving test. Another way to remedy the problems is to pay more attention to safe road design. In other words, traffic lights and road bends can be added to calm traffic while potholes should be eliminated to ensure that people can safely drive.

In conclusion, while stricter penalties are considered as the only way to prevent bad driving, I strongly opine that there are more effective measures that could be taken into account. These are educating children about traffic-related problems and driving skills as well as improving safe road design