In many countries the crime rate is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent. Why do you think this is and what can be done about it?

It is indisputable that a large number of people in today’s world are breaking the law and their criminal activities are believed to be more heinous. Personally I think that this phenomenon is mainly a consequence of social issues and poverty. In this essay, I will first look at its primary reasons before suggesting some viable measures to remedy it.

There are various compelling reasons why the crime rate in many countries is ceaselessly increasing. First, it is unemployment that pushes people into resorting to crime. They cannot find a job and have nothing to do but engage in unlawful activities. Second, poverty is also deemed to be one of the main culprits behind the rise of offenders. It is true that in a country where economic deprivation is rampant, people will be tempted to commit theft, robbery and other violent activities. They don’t have enough money to make ends meet and therefore this seems to be their only way to make a living and support their families.

However, there are a variety of solutions that could be implemented to address the issue. One way is to send criminals to prison as they must know that unlawful actions have severe consequences. For instance, murderers must receive prison sentences for years and such a punishment may act as a deterrent. Besides, when law breakers are behind bars, they are no longer a danger to society and thus prevent intimidation. Another step that could be taken is to provide education to younger generations. Students should be well-prepared to avoid situations that may involve them in crime or becoming a victim. Some special training is reckoned to deter them from embarking on a life of crime. Prisoners should also be provided with skills and rehabilitation programmes to not reoffend when being released.

To summarize, it is unemployment and poverty that lead people to violent actions and hence increase the criminal rate in society. I believe that by sending offenders to prison and providing education for youngsters, this problem will be solved properly.