People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc.). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

In today’s modern era, more and more young people decide to embark on higher education for a host of compelling reasons. Many believe that this environment allows them to widen their horizon and gain new experiences. Personally, I opine that by attending higher education, people will have better job opportunities and apart from this, they can improve their social skills and many other life skills.

More young people are now pursuing university or college as a way to prepare for their future occupation. It is indisputable that employers often have a tendency to seek for employees who are bachelor’s degree holders as they argue that those people will surely have ample intrinsic knowledge to handle difficult tasks. Therefore, for most students, higher education together with a degree can open the door to better career prospects. For instance, a person who graduated from a prestigious university might be given a more lucrative job compared to the one who has not acquired a tertiary degree.

In addition, universities or colleges not only provide attendances with academic knowledge but also help them to hone practical skills. Most higher education institutions have a multitude of clubs and organizations that students can take part in to improve their social skills as these environments often give them a chance to meet more talented people coming from different cultures across the world. To elucidate, students in Foreign Trade University, which is one of the top-tier universities in Vietnam, are known as well-rounded educated students for their excellent academic performance and more importantly, their life skills such as time management and problem - solving skill as they usually participate in some school’s events and undergo lots of school’s training sessions besides studying.

In brief, each person has their own purposes when attending higher education. And I think that two overarching goals are having better career preparation and gaining new soft skills.