Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people think that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that it has bad effects on the environment so it should be stopped.

It is true that economic growth has taken a heavy toll on the environment. First of all, the growth of industrial development leads to an increase in the number of factories and plants. These facilities release greenhouse gases which are the major culprit behind global warming. In addition, they discharge toxic waste into the river and ocean. Another reason is some human activities have bad effects on the environment. Many animal species are directly affected by illegal hunting and the loss of natural habitats caused by agricultural or tourism expansion. That is the reason why they are being pushed closer to the brink of extinction as their number of individuals could not be maintained.

However, trying to stop the economy from developing is not a rational approach for economic growth is still the most effective measure to tackle poverty and hunger. Firstly, a healthy economy will create employment opportunities and stable income for those coming from underprivileged backgrounds. Therefore, These people could cover basic living expenses and be able to access formal education to escape the vicious circle of poverty. Secondly, more generous budgets help the government invest in agriculture to automate the labor-intensive processes (like fertilizing, irrigating, growing or gathering crops). As a result, productivity and output will be increased considerably to put the stop to hunger.

In conclusion, I understand why many people think that economic growth should be stopped to protect the environment. However, to my mind, we should not depend on such a desperate measure because the advantages of economic growth are much more significant than the drawbacks