Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Agree or Disagree?

In the past decade, a multitude of scientific research has significantly contributed to the development of society. Some people believe that it should be conducted and controlled by governments while some opine that it is better to allow private companies to take that responsibility. Although there is ample evidence supporting the latter opinion, I agree with the former one.

It is indisputable that many private sectors are now willing to participate in undertake some scientific research, however, there are two dangers in this. First of all, if a scientific project is funded and managed by corporations, its credibility would suffer. In order to maximize profits and gain publicity, many of them may be tempted to manipulate results as well as to launch new products without adequate trials. For instance, thalidomide, developed by a German drug company, had led to thousands of malformed children. Second, without being controlled by the state, private companies may carry out illegal research related to nature or unethical human experimentation. In other words, leaving research in genetic engineering in the hands of corporations may have profound social consequences - such as GM (Genetically-Modified) crops which destroy whole ecosystems as a result of meddling with nature.

I believe that governments should play the leading role in performing research due to a number of compelling reasons. In today’s modern era, scientific research is the key to finding solutions to the pressing concerns of society. To exemplify, thorough medical research needs to be conducted by governments to develop vaccines against potential epidemics such as the COVID-19 and research into renewable energy is also crucial to dealing with global warming. These kinds of research require a great deal of spending, which can only be afforded by the government. Moreover, by controlling scientific research, the state can ensure that there is no research with unethical purposes such as nuclear power or weapons and hence protect the populations from terrorism and other social problems.

In brief, I strongly agree with the viewpoint that governments should bear sole responsibility for scientific research in terms of expenditure and safety reasons.