Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes?

In this day and age, it is widely assumed that international tourism has a negative impact on the nations where foreigners come to. This essay will look at some primary causes of this and offer some possible solutions to the problem.

To commence with, there are a number of reasons why national citizens thought that international visit is a cause leading to negative effects on their country. The first reason is it may have an adverse impact on traditional customs and indigenous practices because tourists may be insensitive towards the feelings of local residents. A typical example for this would be when coming to Vietnam, many foreigners would have a tendency to wear comfortable clothes, such as the revealing ones or short dress, to pagodas and this is natively thought to be unacceptable in formal places. Another reason is some foreign visitors often pollute or litter in beautiful spots and several famous beaches, which partly leads to environmental pollution for the country.

In addition to the above analysis, there are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problems mentioned above. First of all, tourist agencies should urge visitors to respect the local customs and culture of their hosts. It would be necessary for the foreigners to follow the national rule and wear the suitable clothes when coming the formal places such as pagodas, churchs and temples. Secondly, bodies such as the World Tourism Organisation must enforce strict regulations on the tourism industry. As a consequence, the rate of foreign visitors following the rules might increase and there would be developments in the tourism industry.

In conclusion, there are various factors leading to the thinking of international tourism has a bad influence to their country of the local people and measures can be implemented to tackle this issue.