Some people think that only the government can make significant changes in society, while others think that individuals can have a lot of influence.

What is your opinion?

Since the dawn of time, enhancing life has always been chief priority of humans. Because of this, much has been debated about who should assume responsibility for making alterations in society. A school of thought holds that the governing body can deliver life-changing decisions for the betterment of society, whilst others opine that normal residents can be influential figures making the world a better place to live in. In this answer, I will explore the rationale behind both sentiments before giving my opinion.

It is understandable why some people advocate the role of government in changing people’s life. Chief among these is that people holding top positions wield the power to administer stringent rules, curbing social problems , which is of tremendous importance to a country’s well-rounded development. In light of overpopulation associating with social ills such as crime or drug trafficking, nobody else but the government can prevent the situations from further deteriorating. By fining criminals and drug dealers heavily or sentencing those offenders to prisons can deter them from commiting offenses again, which can greatly contribute to life quality improvement. This is a testament to the role of government as a key to life enhancement

Together with the role of the state, residents can also act as influencers who can change society. Ordinary people are likely to have a deep insight into the most urgent problems that the public are facing, thus applying themselves to invent new life-enhancing technologies or devise practical solutions to uplift their living standards. In fact, there are several programs organised by the state to incentivize people to speak out their opinions or empirical advices to help better people’s life. Ted Talks is a case in point, attracting thoundsands of inspirational speakers to deliver their own thoughts and solutions for pressing issues, which can influence people the world over in a good way.

In conclusion, changing the world is a massive undertaking that warrants joint effort of either leaders of a country or residents. Therefore, goverment should consult ordinary people’ opinions to adjust legislation, contributing to the development of society.