Some people think that in order to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately owned vehicles should be banned in city centers, while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While it is argued that private transportation should be prohibited to cope with the traffic jam in urban areas, another opinion is that this seems to be an impractical solution. I personally believe that there are other ways which are more realistic to solve this problem.

Admittedly, there are some justifiable reasons to believe that banning the possession of personal vehicles is a great way to deal with the congestion problems in numerous cities. The proliferation of private vehicles on the roads such as cars and motorbikes is contributing to the congestion of traffic. This is due to the fact that day by day, it is easier to buy private vehicles due to the variety of models and prices. Consequently, there is a large volume of transportation flocks into the road, especially during the rush hour, causing the phenomena of traffic jams. As a result, if the authorities enforce promulgated laws to ban the owning of personal vehicles, this phenomena can be solved because of the fewer number of transportations on the road.

However, I am convinced that there are more compelling reasons to say that this solution is not entirely effective. The key reason is that although it can partly help people to avoid getting stuck in the traffic, daily activities might become extremely inconvenient. This means that people can suffer the hassle of traveling without private vehicles. A good example is that in emergency circustames, someone coming down with serious sickness needs to go to hospital immediately might not have any other options but the ambulance, which might not arrive in time. Supposing that the worst case scenario may happen, this patient could pass away due to the lack of timely treatment. Another reason is that there are other effective measures to cope with this problem, typically improving transportation systems and infrastructures. For example, the Chinese government supports widening the road and adding paths that can do wonders for the traffic system since citizens have more space to travel back and forth . Consequently, plenty of cities in China can curb traffic jams these days although it has one of the most dense populations in the world.

In conclusion, I think banning private cars, motorbikes can only partly reduce traffic congestion, while it can be difficult in some emergency events. Moreover, there are other solutions that are more practical than prohibiting private transportations such as improving the traffic infrastructure.