Some people think that in order to solve traffic and transportation problems people should be encouraged to live in suburbs or country side rather than cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Traffic congestion and transportation issues, such as road traffic accident, are among the major challenges faced by people residing in metropolitan areas. Some individuals believe that by encouraging residents in the urban to relocate to the suburbs these problems will be mitigated. I completely agree with this assertion, because it will help reduce the population in the city as well as road users and ultimately bring development to the countryside.

One possible way of reducing traffic jams and transportation related problems in the urban centres is by encouraging people to move and settle in rural area. This will reduce the population of individuals living in the cities with resultant reduction in gridlocks and transport associated problems especially during the rush hours. For instance, in 2004, when some individuals living in Lagos were motivated to migrate to Sango Ota, an outskirt of the metropolis, there was massive reduction in traffic congestion and accident occurring in the city. Thus, inspiring people to relocate to the conurbations helped in solving traffic jams experienced in the urban.

With this in mind, certain things like creation of job opportunities and developments in the rural districts could spur people to living in the countryside. This is because humans are easily motivated to move to a place where they are employment opportunities. To illustrate, In the 2000, when NNPC, a renowned Oil and Gas company in Nigeria, move to Abraka, a village close to Warri metropolis, there were provision of social amenities and job opportunities. Many individuals had to move down to Abraka for a better job offers. This has ultimately, brought development and employments to rural dwellers.

In conclusion, traffic jams and transportation problems experienced due to overpopulation of Urban area could be solved by stimulating people to live in the suburbs. Furthermore, developing and creating employments in the country side could make individuals to move to this part of the country.