Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society Others however believe that school is the place to learn this discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Society with socially responsible people, who help others and work for the betterment of the world is the need of the hour. However, to build a society with such good members is both the responsibility of parents and school. This essay will discuss how parents and schools play a role in building a society with good members.

Home is the first school for children. They watch and learn from their parents, children view their parents as role model. Teaching children how to behave in a society, respecting elders, sharing and treating everyone as equal at early age becomes a habit when they grow up. For example:We taught are nephew to share chocolate with all family members from young age, now he does involuntarily. He shares his chocolates even with his friends now. It is these habits that build the character and make them well prepared for the future.

School is the second home. Children gain academic knowledge, mingle with children from different backgrounds, color and race. School should teach them social responsibilities apart from academics like participating in charity event, working for an NGO. For example: Taking students to a NGO and showing them how they can help them will build compassion in students and help them understand their duties in society as they grow. These activities taught in school will make them better citizens who understand social responsibility.

In my opinion both parents and school play a important role in imbibing good qualities in children to make them good members of the society. Instead of placing the burden on one, working to together will help children be more responsible and good members of the society.