Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

People have different views whether parents are responsible to educate children how to behave and to treat people in the community or schools should take full responsibility on this aspect. This essay will address both of the arguments and provide an opinion as a conclusion.

Parents share responsibilities regarding nurturing their children about how to behave in society. This is mainly because of many aspects in children's lives such as their attitude and the ways they interact with others are imitating their parents’ behavior. The way the children approach new people, for instance, is almost similar to the way their parents interact with strangers. This attitude has been observed by children since they were children, and when they are in a similar situation, they unconsciously treat the new people in the same way that their parents do. For this reason, the aspect of nurturing children how to treat people in the community has to be paid attention by parents.

However, this does not mean that schools are less responsible for this account. In many schools in Indonesia, attitude is one compulsory subject that all children must enroll in. This indicates that schools also play a significant role in terms of teaching children about how to be a good member of society. Moreover, children spend 8 hours a day in school. Thus, schools have adequate time to educate the pupils about how to behave and treat people in the community.

To sum up, there is a debate about who is responsible to educate children to be a good member of society. However, I personally believe that both parents and school share similar responsibilities because children tend to imitate their parents and the amount of time that children spend in school.