Knowing what is right and what is wrong is a very intriguing argument and is becoming a debatable issue. There are individuals who think that learning how to be a good citizen is a responsibility of parents and that home is their venue for it, while others, argue that the perfect location to teach this is in educational institution. To my mind, both parties are needed to teach children how to be a responsible citizen.

Parents are responsible in rearing their children from the day they were born and up to the day they can stand on their own. Because of this thinking, there are others who believe that teaching right and wrong to a child starts under the roof of their houses. Children do what they see and for that reason, what their parents do reflect every child's action. Their mothers and fathers are their idols and they imitate them while they grow up. An example of this is a boy I met at a public market. I saw him pick pocketed an old lady and i had the courage to stop him and when asked why he did that, he said "I was helping my father who did the same so we can celebrate holidays together". This proves that parents have the duty to teach their children how to be a good member of the community.

On the other hand, there are some who believe that schools are the ones responsible for teaching children the correct attitude in every given situation. In the academe, there are subjects related to this like Values Education, Christian Living and Theology. The schools are established as a venue for learning and for that reason they should teach their students to do what is correct and avoid doing what is wrong.

Personally I think, parents and school are both significant in molding children. Parents are their first teachers and schools are their secondary homes. They learn the basics at home and they can put it in action in schools while interacting with other students or even with the teachers.

Overall, being a good citizen is a result of the teachings of both the parents and the school that work together hand in hand.