Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It has always been a controversial issue about whether physical strength or mental strength is considered more important for success in sport. For some people, it is reasonable that physical strength is important for success in sport while others believe that mental strength is an essential element for success in sport.

It is undeniable that most sports require physical strength. Without energy, strength, power, speed, reflection or flexibility, sport cannot be played successfully. For example, it required a great energy and power for weightlifting; speed, energy and flexibility to play soccer or speed, energy and reflection to play tennis. These sport games can't be played successfully only with mental strength. In addition, not only does it require physical energy, but sport requires a lot of it. For instance, a soccer game lasts 90 minutes, you can't win the game by just simply standing or walking around the field. You have to run, use your power to take your opponent's ball and control the ball using your flexibility for the whole game. It's the same for tennis, baseball, basketball, etc. Therefore, the importance of physical strength is undeniable.

In the meantime, it is not considered that playing a sport without mental strength is a real challenge. Although mental strength is not directly responsible for the success of a sports game, but its importance is undeniable. In all sports games, beyond physical strength, it is imperative the need for strategy, calm-mind and acute thought. Without it, you will easily become unstable, panic and no matter how great your physical power is, your fall has been expected. For example, without a good strategy, a plan, a soccer team will play without a proper order and therefore, can't use all of their physical strength; or when a team is being leaded, a cold head and acute thoughts are important, because they will build a plan or a strategy to counter and take back the game. Without mental strength and skill, the team will easily panic and lose the game by themselves. Therefore, the importance of mental strength is undeniable.

In conclusion, both physical and mental strength are undeniably important for success in sport. In my view, it is reasonable that physical and mental strength are important to success in sport. Ones cannot play a successful sports game without physical or mental strength. You need to train and improve your ability and strength for physical and mental strength to achieve success in sport.