some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important.
In order to achieve success in sport, some people argue that it is more important to
be strong mentally than physically. While no sportsperson can reach the top
without the mental qualities of determination and dedication, I believe that the basis
for success must be physical strength.
On the one hand, all sports trainers recognise the necessity of a strong mental
attitude. Firstly, if trainers cannot foster a competitive spirit, or even a win-at-all-
costs attitude, the sportspeople who they train may lack the necessary motivation to
work hard and succeed. Hours spent training in the gym, for example, may be
repetitive and boring, and aspiring athletes need to stay focused. Secondly, in any
sport there will be disappointments and failures, and it is essential to be mentally
strong to overcome these and achieve one’s goals. In particular, in the world of
professional sport, where news coverage places too much value on sport, it is
impossible to have a laid-back attitude and still succeed.
On the other hand, physical strength must be the basis of all success in sport.
While most people take up sport simply to get into shape or to keep fit, those who
wish to become successful must be physically strong. Obvious examples are sports
such as weightlifting, boxing or judo. Yet all other sports also demand physical
strength for stamina and endurance, even sailing or horse-riding. Some sports stars,
such as the world-famous professional cyclist Lance Armstrong, have even used
illegal substances, like performance-enhancing drugs, in order to reach and maintain
top physical condition, risking their careers.
In conclusion, both physical and mental strength are necessary to become
successful in sport, but it is impossible to succeed without being physically strong.