Some people think that poverty is the reason behind most crimes. To what extent do you agree?

There has been heated debate over whether the majority of crimes are caused by poverty. While it is true that poverty is the principal reason leading to unlawful acts such as robbery and theft, I believe it is not accountable for most crimes. Other factors namely innate poor characteristics and drug abuse are also great crime attributes.

It is obvious that under certain circumstances, poverty induces crime. To commence with, people would participate in illegal activities such as robbery and theft if their standard of living disable them from meeting their basic needs. In addition, drug dealers in some areas will take advantage of the poor due to their desperation and ignorant and exploit them to smug narcotics. Another way that poverty correlates to crime is that impoverished minors do not have access to proper education, leading to a myriad of problems including no sense of propriety and violence. Vital to good citizenship is education, and since a significant number of these kids grow up in slums, violence is the only method available to resolve conflict and protect themselves.

On the other hand, a popular belief is that a person’s nature determines criminal capabilities in the future. A child who performs acts such as bullying from a young age, for instance, is proved to have a higher potential of committing violent crimes in the future. Furthermore, those who possess laziness are more prone to violate the law as they seek easy money without having to work for it. Increasing figures of youngsters today choose to steal instead of working hard to earn money for illicit purposes (buying alcohol or drugs).

In conclusion, the relationship between poverty and crime is apparent, yet other contributors also play a significant role in the increasing rate of many crimes.