Nowadays, it is as important to teach students soft skills as it is to teach them subject knowledge. To what extent do you agree/disagree with this opinion?

Recently, there has been heated debate over the importance of soft skills and whether they should be taught equally to academic subjects. Personally, I believe that although having academic knowledge will enable students to prosper in the future, leadership and interpersonal skills are crucial for interacting and communicating with others - another success attribute.

On the one hand, academic education has a tangible benefit: improving general intelligence. To begin with, the study of subjects such as Mathematics and Science is proven to enhance one’s cognitive thinking and problem-solving, while the study of social and humanities subjects is bound to improve one’s understanding of society, history, and an actual understanding of one’s life. This knowledge plays an important role in the student's future. Society, in general, tends to admire those with expertise. When applying for a job, for instance, candidates who have impressive academic records are certain to catch the recruiters' attention.

Vital to a successful career are not only academics but also noncognitive skills as these put knowledge into use. It is common for parents, particularly Asian parents to overemphasize academics over soft skills, thus neglecting their offspring’s ability to communicate, manage time, etc. As a result, many students are not capable of expressing themselves or their ideas to others despite having the knowledge to do so, leading to poor teamwork and conflict-resolution capabilities. Another soft skill that a majority of youngsters lack is time management where they do not know how to sort out work, resulting in exhaustion at the end of the day.

In conclusion, unlike hard skills that are learned, soft skills are similar to emotions or insights that allow people to “read” others. In a traditional classroom, these are much more difficult to learn; nonetheless, schools should implement extracurricular activities that promote communication and leadership among students into the curriculum alongside traditional subjects since both are fundamental for them to prosper in the future and enable them to have comfortable lives.