Some people think that public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free to the people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree with his statement?

These days, many people have claimed that public transport should be generously funded by the government to foster people to use it. In my opinion, I suppose the idea that it is not plausible to make public transport completely free to the public.

To begin with, it is the idea of entirely free public transportation that does not work as effectively as people believe. This implies that a large sum of money allocated in transport will place an immense burden on the government’s budget; as a result, the investment in other sectors such as healthcare and education could be curtailed accordingly. In addition, it is this trend that exacerbates the traffic and environment. Evidently, once public transport is completely free, the amount of people commuting by public transport would increase dramatically, which is reversely prone to deteriorating traffic systems and severe air pollution. For example, the more buses are operated, the more emissions this means of transport release into the air.

Another point worth mentioning is that this decision has a significant repercussion in automobile industry. In fact, if most of the citizens switch into using public transport which is free, they will no longer purchase private vehicles such as cars or bicycles, which leads to the dramatical decline in the revenue of this industry. What is more, a mass of workers working in many car factories will also be in danger of losing their jobs.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the decision that let the government take the whole responsibility for public transport fee sounds unreasonable due to several reasons such as creating a tremendous burden on government’s budget, deteriorating the traffic system and having side-effect on the other vehicles’ production. Therefore, I recommend that there should be a small charge to be implemented on people to assure the quality of service.