Some people think that the qualities a person needs to become successful in today’s world cannot be learned at a university or similar academic institution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, becoming a successful person requires real-life experience which is not easily acquired when learning at universities. From my viewpoint, although having practical experience about many aspects of life contributes to an individual’s success, I believe that being educated in tertiary education is also considered as an essential part in gaining success.

Without doubts, obtaining hands-on experience provides people with a large amount of job opportunities. It is easy to notice that the employers emphasize more in their applicants’ career summaries rather than their academic backgrounds, so meeting the companies’ needs could help the candidates more likely to be admitted for the positions. In addition, having practical expertise about a particular field also results in excellent performances at work and having good references when employees move to new workplaces.

However, having few academic qualifications could pose a dire threat to the job seekers and the employers too. It is undeniable that being not well educated in colleges makes contribution to a workforce having non-professional background. For instance, the laborers themselves cannot achieve work experiences when they do not have the theory knowledge about their disciplines. Furthermore, the large quantity of candidates without qualifications applying for jobs could make the employers find it more difficult to recruit favorable people for the positions, which could lead to the less well-prepared workforce in the future. Employees, especially people who involve in related-to-society careers, might make the progress to a wealthy and developed society delayed and even worse than before.

To recapitulate, I would like to highlight that while handing on operational experience is undeniable to be beneficial for job seekers, people should not neglect the importance of obtaining qualifications and having good academic backgrounds when applying for jobs. In the long run, the shortage of professional employees could become a social predicament that may harm next generations.