Some people think schools should only teach students academic subjects. Others think schools should also teach students how to discriminate between right and wrong. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A debate on whether schools should only teach students academic knowledge rages on. Some people contend that students should only receive education of academic subjects, while others opine that students should also learn to distinguish right from wrong in school. In my own perspective, schools need to find a balance to both improve students' academic performance as well as other moral principles.

It is understandable that some people wish their children to receive instructions only in academic areas. Under the fierce competition of modern society, only by mastering more knowledge, students can be well prepared for future employment. For example, schools teach students to learn English when they are in primary school. After learning English for more than 10 years, some students with excellent skills in English may have the chance to work abroad, and thereby improving their living standards dramatically.

However, others argue that students' ability to discriminate between right and wrong should also be enhanced in school. Students normally spend the most important time in school. During this time period, most students will form their styles of doing things. If they do not receive proper education to guide them, they may develop unacceptable behaviours, such as cheating in exams, bullying at peers. Such behaviours have detrimental effect on students' growth.

From my point of view, both academic and moral education are vital to students' future development. Without comprehensive knowledge towards different subjects, such as English, Math, students cannot be well qualified to take the challenge of professional work. Also, students who are incapable of doing the right things are not able to develop socially acceptable behaviours. Therefore, I insist that schools should not underestimate the importance of each area and try to reach a balance between students' academic work and other moral norms.