Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

With the pollution brought by human activities, many species are on the verge of extinction or have already died out. Therefore, the author claims that our society should take some actions to protect the endangered species from dying out only when the potential extinction is the result of human activities. However, it is not realistic to save all the vanishing creatures.

Admittedly, it is difficult to define the influences human activities have on the endangered species. Our earth is replete with hundreds of thousands of species, and most of them are closely interwoven with each other. Some human behaviours which can cause severe outcomes for specific species are normally overlooked by human themselves. For example, the over use of modern vehicles is often recognised as a cause leading to air pollution, which could affect the living conditions of some birds. However, such a human activity is also a major source of the overwhelming noise in our society, which has an impact on the lifespan of some small creatures, as they cannot tolerate the noise. Therefore, as human are not able to draw an accurate evaluation about the effect they have on species, a more comprehensive protection plan should be made to not only involve the species directly affected by human but also the species which are previously ignored.

However, saving all the endangered species will certainly require a huge amount of funds, which may disrupt the economy of our society. For example, many countries around the world have invested a lot, which includes both human resources and money, in scientific researches so as to preserve the lives of many species. In doing this, there’re only a small proportion of creatures can be saved. Therefore, if the target is to prevent all species from dying, the resources the society invest are beyond our imagination and certainly will cause the economic recession.

In addition, the extinction of some species is the wish of nature and we don’t have the right to interfere with it. For example, dinosaurs had once dominated the earth, but they vanished in millions of years ago due to multiple reason, such as dramatic climate change. It is obvious that the extinction of dinosaurs doesn’t have any influence on us, because at that time, we humans didn't even exist. Moreover, thanks to the extinction of dinosaurs, we have the chance to become dominate on earth. Therefore, we should respect the process of natural selection, as it may even benefit the well being of human.

In sum, since preventing all species from extinction requires a lot of investments and some of the extinction process is the will of nature, it is no need for human being to protect them all. Instead, we should focus on preserving the species which may cause a huge loss of human.