Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Rewarding gifted students in school is the choice of most people. In contrast, there is a belief that students who put their effort on study should be encouraged. In my own perspective, rewards are for students who try their best to gain knowledge and be hard-working at school.

On the one hand, giving rewards for only talented students may create a competitive academic environment. The aim of study is not only broaden student’s horizons but also pursue a degree with remarkable grades. Consequently, the relationship among classmates would sooner be competitive than co-operative. However, if the gifted students are recognized, they can nurture their abilities by joining extra classes to develop their capabilities. These classed are often taught by some distinguished teacher at school.

On the other hand, academic institutions give encouragement to whom make strides on study or show their process on gaining knowledge. Firstly, this gives equal chance to every students at school. Students are not stressed or depressed when trying thier best to get good marks and competing with their classmates. What’s more, students seem to experience school life with happiness if they are rewarded with their significant study process. Secondly, equal chances to everyone basically follow holistic principle of learning. Students fundamentally go to school in order to widen their own knowledge but not to achieve high score only on exams.

In conclusion, although rewarding only out-standing students has a benefit on nurturing their abilities, it contains drawbacks as well. In my opinion, schools should give equal chance for every students on educational process to create a positive school environment.