Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

People have different views about whether we should reward students who get excellent academic results or achieve improvements. While a number of people believe that only students achieving the highest grades deserve rewarding, I think it is more reasonable to praise students who show improvements.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why awards should be given to students having excellent academic performance. Firstly, this can create a highly competitive studying environment so that students are more willing to put a lot of effort into learning. They will improve themselves everyday by preparing and reviewing lessons in order to get the highest grades and this will enhance the quality of education. Secondly, gifted students who are outstanding can be realized and they will have an opportunity to nurture their abilities. For example, at the school where I studied, pupils who get the highest score will be selected into a team and be trained for national examination.

On the other hand, I believe that giving encouragement to students who make strides in their studies results in more favorable outcomes. The first benefit is that this could provide equal chances among students to get rewards. These students will not longer be disappointed about themselves and they can feel more motivated instead. Another benefit is that this could reduce studying pressure which have caused some mental dysfunction for students, especially the ones who is going to take examinations. Moreover, if students are not forced to spend all of the time on learning academic subjects at schools, they can attend special courses which provide valuable skills such as English communication, looking up information on the Internet or problem-solving skills. This can meet the criteria of many recruiters which require specific knowledge and skills

In conclusion, although rewarding students with the highest scores is advantageous in some extent, it seems to me that it is better to give encouragement to those who have improved their level of academic performance.