The best way to resolve the international environmental problems is to

increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that the most effective solution to tackle global environmental issues is to increase the cost of fossil fuels. While this measure could have some advantages, I believe that there are more ways which may result in better outcomes to alleviate environmental problems.

There are some merits when raising the cost of fossil fuels. Firstly, this would encourage people to use their car less, which means a reduction in exhaust emissions. Secondly, by using less coal or oil can produces a positive impact on the environment by slowing the process of global warming. Moreover, as the sources of these fuels are coming to an end, this measure would reduce our dependence on these kinds of power source. For example, it is estimated that by 2100, the world is going to face the shortage of oil due to uncontrolled exploitation.

However, there are actually more beneficial ways to solve environmental degradation. One of them is introducing restrictions on the use of private vehicles. For example, cars and motorbikes are not allowed to be used in some main roads of a city, which not only reduces traffic congestion and enhances the use of public means of transport such as buses, but also decrease the need of petrol. Also, governments around the world should allocate resources to development of alternative energy sources such as sun or wind power. These power sources is indefinite and have a low cost and proved no harm to the environment. Finally, international cooperation to share scientific knowledge and advances in technology should be a top priority of policies of many nations.

In conclusion, raising the cost of fossil fuels can be a welcome measure, but more effective steps are required to achieve sustainable development by protecting the environment.