Some people think that schools should select pupils according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have pupils with different abilities study together. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are mixed opinions in regard to whether streaming students according to their academic ability into separate classes is utilizable to the education system. Some assert it will be more beneficial to students’ development if they study in mixed abilities classes. However, I believe that it would be more effective and efficient in terms of both teaching and learning when streaming process is implemented.

It is evident that students with various abilities studying together are more likely to achieve positive outcomes in all-round ability development. Mixed abilities classes offer students opportunities to learn from each other, thus, to develop the abilities that were absent from them previously. For example, a student with an excellent academic ability can learn how to dance or paint from peers who are less academic but rather artistic. In this sense, mixed classes encourage students to develop their multi-dimensional abilities rather than solely academic.

Despite the argument above, I believe streaming system generates more benefits to teachers and students. As to teachers, it is more convenient to discover suitable teaching methodologies to accommodate a group of students with similar academic abilities. Compared with mixed classes, in which teachers need to acknowledge the ability differences among each student, streaming classes make it much simpler to teachers. As to students, this system enables them to learn in an effective way, as specific teaching methods, timeframe and teaching materials distributed to different schools in order to obtain more specific learning. In this way, the narrower the spread is, the more convenient the teaching can be and the more effective the learning can be.

To conclude, mixed ability classes encourage students to develop all-round abilities. However, it is the streaming system that facilitates the more specific teaching and learning, which is proved to be more effective and efficient.