Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together.

Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Some people feel that schools should only admit students with certain academic abilities, whilst others think that it is more beneficial to have students with different strengths in a class. I'm personally in support of the latter because I believe that a heterogeneous group of students would be of great benefit to each student.

To begin with, people who support the idea that schools should only choose students based on their academic abilities might think that students with poor academic abilities would not able to understand class materials. And this leads to various problems. First, they would fall behind the other students in the class and be distracted. Therefore, they are likely to get involved in harmful activities. As an example, it is common to see these students today addicted to playing games because they feel that this is the only thing that makes them feel valued. Second, students who do not perform well at school often suffer emotionally. The reason is that they are constantly criticized and embarrassed by their friends and teachers.

Others, however, think that it is better to have students with different abilities. This might be because a heterogeneous group of students will create a cooperative environment. For example, when working on a project, such a class can distribute individual tasks to members with the best skills, resulting in an optimal outcome. This helps to form an environment where students can exchange their knowledge and realize their potential, which lays the foundation for them when they go to work in the future. In fact, at work, people nowadays encourage employees to work cooperatively as it can produce more positive results than to work separately.

In conclusion, while some believe schools should only select students with the ability to perform well academically, others think educators should choose a class of students with different talents. I am in favor of the latter because I think that such a class would allow students to employ their skills and incentivize them to work collaboratively with each other.