Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Some people advocate the idea that school’s classes should be categorized according to pupil’s academic performance while others hold the belief that constructing mix-ability classroom would be a superior approach. From my personal perspective, despite the fact that both opinion have their own merits and demerits, I would content with the former.

On the one hand, students in a mixed-level class would have the opportunity to be in close interaction with those at other levels. Hence, they would not only have the opportunity to acknowledge their own weekness and strength but also be able to receive support from counterparts. To cite an example, a student who is excelling at Math but struggling with Literature, can ask for assistance from those that are good at Literature. Besides, there is an existed downside that should be taken into consideration. Should some students fall behind with their classmates because of the disparity in academic level, it may create a lot of obstacles not only for the students themselves but the teachers as well.

On the other hand, by sorting out student on the basis of their academic performances, both students and teachers can reap a variety of benefits from this teaching method. First and foremost, it is easier for teacher to monitor and keep track of their pupils thank to little performance discrepancy. Secondly, as the lecture is well-designed to target only one specific level, students can effortlessly get hold of the lesson content. To be more specific, the intelligent group would be provided with advanced materials and faster tutorial speed while students with lower academic ability can be carefully catered by teachers with simpler lesson plans.

In a nutshell, notwithstanding the merits of both types of classroom, I would take side with the ideas of constructing specific classroom in accordance with students’ levels due to the aforementioned advantages.